• Добавлено
  • 17.04.2018
  • Просмотры
  • 212990
Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2016 1 January The essence of the race
The 72nd edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart closed on 1 January with the official prizegiving organised by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania. The ceremony presented an opportune moment to reflect on a truly memorable race. Anthony Bells 100-ft Maxi Perpetual LOYAL won line honours and took almost five hours off the previous race record. Jim Delegats 70-ft New Zealand yacht Giacomo showed true resilience in claiming overall race victory on handicap. Their remarkable exploits were both rewarded with Rolex timepieces. However, the Rolex Sydney Hobart is not only about prizes. Eighty-three of the 88 competing yachts finished the 2016 race, testament to the dedication, commitment and passion invested by all who compete. Each and every edition of the race is unique and every race sailed likewise. Competitors enjoy sharing stories on the docks after the race and this overriding sense of friendship and camaraderie are important facets of what makes the Rolex Sydney Hobart so compelling.